Whether you have been charged with your first DUI or you are a multiple DUI offender, you will need the services of an experienced Fresno DUI Attorney immediately.
In California, you have 10 days after your arrest to request an in-person administrative per se hearing from the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). If this request is not filed within 10 days, the DMV will likely suspend or revoke your license.
If you have been arrested on suspicion of DUI, call the Law Office of Gregory W. Fox immediately. Mr. Fox is a top Fresno DUI Attorney and is experienced in challenging license suspensions.
Do not plead guilty. Fight.
Helping you keep your license is just one aspect of the comprehensive DUI defense services offered by Mr. Fox. As your court hearing approaches, Mr. Fox will collect all of the details about your arrest and give you the best chance for a successful hearing. Even if the results of your chemical test were above .08%, or you failed the field sobriety tests, there are still numerous reasons to challenge the DUI arrest. You can avoid a conviction with an experienced Fresno DUI Attorney!
As an experienced Fresno DUI attorney, Gregory W. Fox knows the local laws, drunk driving laws in California, and the factors that may help you during your court hearing, including the reliability of field sobriety testing equipment and the procedures that an arresting officer must follow. Oftentimes, Mr. Fox may be able to appear at your hearing on your behalf, giving you the best chance to reduce fines and penalties.
Drunk driving is a serious crime. A conviction can have long-lasting repercussions. The Law Office of Gregory W. Fox understands the effect a DUI arrest and conviction can have on your personal life and your career. If you have been arrested or charged with drunk driving in Fresno, the Central Valley, or throughout California, you need an experienced DUI attorney.
DMV Hearing and License Suspension
When you are charged with a DUI you face not only criminal charges but the possibility of an administrative suspension of your driver’s license. A request for an administrative per se hearing must be filed with the DMV within ten days of your DUI charge or your license will likely be suspended. Fresno DUI Defense Attorney Gregory W. Fox is familiar with this process and knows how to aggressively fight on your behalf in a DMV hearing.
Obtaining a restricted license following a suspension
Recent changes in California law now allow certain individuals the chance to obtain a restricted license immediately following a license suspension. Previously an individual would have to wait 30 days or longer to obtain a restricted license.
Following an arrest for driving under the influence the Department of Motor Vehicle will impose a suspension within 30 days unless a request for an administrative hearing is timely made. If a hearing request is not made, or if a request is made but a suspension is later imposed, an individual in California may now be eligible for a restricted license immediately. This change in California law serves as a great benefit to individuals who cannot afford to suffer a license suspension.
For a first offense, an individual is immediately eligible to obtain a restricted license after installation of an Ignition Interlock Device, enrollment in the required driving under the influence program, and after having proof of financial responsibility (SR-22) filed with the DMV. The IID restricted license now allows an individual to drive with no restrictions. The IID restriction can last for a period of six months or longer depending on a number of factors, including the individual’s blood alcohol concentration. The IID restricted license only applies if the arrest was for driving under the influence of alcohol. If the driving under the influence arrest involved drugs, an IID restricted license is not an option.
Following a first offense, an individual may also be eligible for a restricted license without installation of an IID. However, if the individual does not install an IID, there is a 30 day mandatory suspension period before a restricted license can be obtained. The restricted license only allows the individual with the right to drive to and from work, and to the required driving under the influence program. The restriction can last for up to 12 months.
Multiple offenders, those individuals who have more than one driving under the influence suspension or conviction within a ten-year period, may also be eligible for an IID restricted license. Unlike in the past, multiple offenders are no longer required to have a mandatory suspension period. Similar to a first-time offender, multiple offenders can obtain a restricted license immediately following an administrative suspension or court-imposed suspension if an IID is installed on their vehicle and certain other requirements are met.
The same is true for some individuals arrested for driving under the influence causing injury. Now, an individual arrested for driving under the influence causing injury may also be immediately eligible for an IID restricted license if certain conditions are met.
To determine if you are eligible for an IID restricted license, make sure to contact an experienced local attorney who excels in representing individuals charged with driving under the influence. The Law Office of Gregory W. Fox can assist you with determining your eligibility.
Fresno Superior Court DUI Program for Third Time Offenders
The Fresno County Superior Court has enacted a new DUI program that some individuals who are charged with a third-time offense may be eligible to participate in. In the past, an individual who was charged with a third-time offense would be facing a mandatory 120-day jail sentence. This new DUI program has a number of benefits that were not previously available to multiple offenders. Individuals who are deemed eligible for the program will have their jail sentence stayed pending successful completion of the program. In addition, individuals who are deemed eligible to participate in the program may have their fines and fees reduced by the amount they may be required to pay for alcohol monitoring.
To determine if you may be eligible for this program, or for general questions about the program, you should contact the Law Office of Gregory W. Fox.
Schedule a free initial consultation
Do not wait to call a Fresno DUI attorney. Contact us as soon as possible after your arrest. Call the Law Office of Gregory W. Fox at (559) 222-5800 for your free consultation. In most instances, appointments will be set for the same business day.